Valencia Marathon announces its elite line-up with ambitious goals for 2022

3 November, 2022

The Valencia Marathon Trinidad Alfonso announces its elite international line-up for its 42nd edition on 4 December, when some of the best athletes on the international scene will take to the streets of Valencia Ciudad del Running with the aim of improving the course record (2:03:00) and seeking the best women’s debut in the history of the event.

Tamirat Tola (2:03:39), the reigning World Marathon champion, heads the men’s line-up alongside his Ethiopian compatriots Getaneh Molla (2:03:34) and Dawit Wolde (2:04:27) in a preliminary list with up to seven athletes with fastest times under 2:05 over the Marathon distance. Kenya, a world power in the marathon, will be well represented not only by Jonathan Korir (2:04:32), but also by a trio of important debutants over the distance: Alexander Mutiso, Philemon Kiplimo and Kelvin Kiptum. Attention will also be focused on another athlete who will be initiated at 42,195 metres: the Ethiopian Milkesa Menghesa, the winner of the Copenhagen Half Marathon.

Valencia will also witness an interesting European battle between Germany’s Petros, Sweden’s Tsegay and the Swiss runner Wanders. Overall, the final line-up includes over 150 runners with accredited times under 2:20:00 for the marathon or 1:06:00 for the half marathon.

Gidey: the most eagerly awaited debut

In the women’s category, the spotlight will be on the long-awaited debut of Ethiopia’s Letesenbet Gidey (currently world record holder in the 5000, 10000, 15K and half marathon, two of which were achieved in Valencia), who will make an eye-catching debut in a marathon on 4 December with the realistic ambition of beating the time of 2:17:23 (world record for a debutant), but also of getting as close as possible to the women’s world record of 2:14:04 (Brigid Kosgei, Chicago).

The Kenyan Sheila Chepkirui, also a debutant, could become the other female star of the Valencia Marathon in 2022, without forgetting some of the other runners included in this line-up with excellent times: Sutume Kebede (2:18:12) and Etagegne Woldu (2:20:16), who achieved second place last year in this marathon.

Overall, the final line-up contains over 80 athletes who have run sub 2h45:00 in the marathon or sub 1:17:30 in the half marathon.

Marc Roig analyses the Valencia Marathon elite runners

Marc Roig, international elite coach for the Valencia Marathon, assesses the line-up: “We are very proud that Letesenbet Gidey has chosen Valencia to make her marathon debut. It is a clear demonstration that we are an attractive marathon and of the very strong links between Gidey and the city of Valencia. But, as ever, the Valencia Marathon is not based on a single name: fifteen of the women have run under 2h26 and fourteen of the men under 2h07. And let’s not forget the three debutants with 58 minutes and another one with 57 minutes in the half marathon”.


ETH Getaneh Molla 2:03:34 ETH Letesenbet Gidey DEBUT
ETH Tamirat Tola 2:03:39 ETH Sutume Kebede 2:18:12
ETH Dawit Wolde 2:04:27 ETH Tiki Gelana 2:18:58
KEN Jonathan Korir 2:04:32 ETH Tigist Girma 2:19:52
ERI Hiskel Tewelde 2:04:35 ETH Etagegne Woldu 2:20:16
ETH Chalu Deso 2:04:53 ETH Amane  Shankule 2:20:48
TAN Gabriel Geay 2:04:55 ETH Tadelech Bekele 2:21:40
ETH Workineh Tadesse 2:05:09 KEN Monicah Ngige 2:22:13
ERI Goitom Kifle 2:05:28 ETH Biruktayit Eshetu 2:22:40
ETH Lencho Tesfaye 2:06:18 ETH Meseret Gebre 2:23:11
KEN Geoffrey Kirui 2:06:27 ETH Adawork Aberta 2:23:39
GER Amanal Petros 2:06:27 ETH Tadu Teshome 2:23:53
SWE Samuel Tsegay 2:06:53 MOR Majida Maayouf 2:24:09
KEN Simon Kipkosgei 2:07:07 AUS Sinead Diver 2:24:11
KEN Ronald Korir 2:07:29 KEN Fancy Chemutai 2:24:27
KEN Bet. Kipkemboi 2:07:41 ITA Giovanna Epis 2:25:20
ZIM Isaac Mpofu 2:07:56 PER Gladys Tejeda 2:25:57
NZL Zane Robertson 2:08:19 CRO Bojana Bjeljac 2:26:08
FRA Mehdi Frère 2:08:55 SWE Carolina Wikström 2:26:42
PER Christian Pacheco 2:09:31 MEX Risper Gesabwa 2:26:55
USA Ian Butler 2:09:45 GBR Natasha Cockram 2:30:03
BRA Paulo Paula 2:09:51 USA Jennifer Bergman 2:34:37
SWE David Nilsson 2:10:09 KEN Sheila Chepkirui DEBUT
USA CJ Albertson 2:10:23 ERI Dolshi Tesfu DEBUT
SUI Julien Wanders 2:11:52 ETH Tiruye Mesfin DEBUT
KEN Alexander Mutiso DEBUT
KEN Philemon Kiplimo DEBUT
KEN Kelvin Kiptum DEBUT
ETH Milkesa Mengesha DEBUT
BEL Arnaud Dely DEBUT
NOR Z. Kbrom Mezngi DEBUT
FRA Felix Bour DEBUT

Related news